News & EventsLatest NewsCalendar
Gwent Hockey Senior Awards Evening - 2022-23 Season

Gwent Hockey Senior Awards Evening - 2022-23 Season

Leanne Davies21 May 2023 - 21:19
Share via

A night to celebrate the 22-23 season for the U16s, U18s, & Seniors at Gwent Hockey Club.

On Friday 19th May, the senior awards presentation was held at the Parkway Hotel in Cwmbran. It was great to see so many of our members from across all teams attend to celebrate this season’s success, with everyone looking fabulous in their fancy suits, ties and dresses!

Season 2022-23 had some great highlights including a cup retention for the M1, a cup win for the Boys U16, a league win for the M3, and all ladies teams remaining in their respective leagues. As well as celebrating these great club achievements, it was also a time to recognise individual achievements. This season’s award winners were:

Club Awards
Diana Jenkins (Ladies Club Member) – Rosie Davey
Brian Tulley Award (Men Club Member) – Andy Turner
Elsie Holder (Ladies Youth Member) – Eve Williams
President's Award (Youth player across boys and girls) – Esme Stransom
Pal Lottay Award (Most Improved U18 girl in the ladies’ section) – Jess Powell
John Burrows Award (Most Improved U18 boy in the men’s section) – Alfie Turner
Keith Davies Award (Youth member contribution to the club) - Alex Turner
Emlyn Hughes Award (U18 boy in the men’s section) – Ivor Hitchins


M1 – Players’ Player – Rhys Tucker
M1 – Captain’s Player – Jason Soullier
M1 – Most Improved Player – Mark McBrien
M2 – Players’ Player - Luke Crichton
M2 – Captain’s Player – Ben Marshall
M2 – Most Improved Player - Alex Draper-Eustace
M3 – Players’ Player - Alex McGlynn
M3 – Captain’s Player – Mike Oberholster
M3 – Most Improved Player – Miles Thomas
M4 – Players’ Player - Conor Oakerbee
M4 – Captain’s Player – Hywel Willner
M4 – Most Improved Player – Tobias Hargreaves

Golden Stick – Adam Saunders & Mike Oberholster


L1 – Players’ Player – Alice Mundy
L1 – Captain’s Player – Chloe Smith
L1 – Most Improved Player - Leanne Davies
L2 – Players’ Player - Michelle Cobb
L2 – Captain’s Player – Sarah Tucker
L2 – Most Improved Player - Libby Sims
L3 – Players’ Player - Gwenno Morris
L3 – Captain’s Player – Rosie Morgan
L3 – Most Improved Player - Lois Walker
L4 – Players’ Player - Sarah Vincent
L4 – Captain’s Player – Amelie Payne
L4 – Most Improved Player - Gwen Williams

Golden Stick – Rachel ‘Hillier’ Thomas


U16 – Most Improved Player - George Harris
U16 – Player of the Season – Ollie Rocke
U16 – Coach’s Award - Oliver Hughes
U18 – Most Improved Player - Lewis Evans
U18 – Player of the Season – Alex Turner
U18 – Coach’s Award - Luke Crichton


U16B – Most Improved Player – Olivia Jex
U16A – Most Improved Player – Katie Howells
U16B – Player of the Season – Charlotte Holmes
U16A – Player of the Season – Menna Roberts
U16B – Coach’s Award - Bryony Humphreys
U16A – Coach’s Award - Menna Roberts
U18 – Most Improved Player – Bethan Holmes
U18 – Player of the Season – Jess Powell
U18 – Coach’s Award - Carys Meredith

Congratulations to all the nominees and winners, and to everyone involved in making the 22-23 season so successful. Looking forward to doing it all again next year!

Further reading